Pumpkin Spice Latte

I’m a sucker for a festive drink. Starbucks is now as much a part of my Christmas experience as the classic ‘Christmas Carol’ scene is to…well, everyone, ever. It just doesn’t feel like Christmas until I can have a Ginger Nut Latte, with the same high-calorie sweet treats I’ve had all year, which suddenly taste even better because I’m generally in better spirits.

But what is this I hear? A Halloween drink? Yes, for the first year ever, the UK is being graced with the Pumpkin Spice Latte, which my U.S. friends (and well travelled, smug UK friends) tell me has been a staple in the American Starbucks for years.

Well hello already! Why is this such a good thing? It’s good because the UK isn’t big into Halloween like the U.S, but it really should be. Also, our winter begins on 1st September, if not before, and it is bitter cold. We don’t just like having hot sugary drinks long before December, we physically need them to survive. And, after having the greatest summer ever in London, we now have nothing to look forward to until Christmas. We need something in which to drown our autumnal sorrows. I like the word autumnal. And I like the Pumpkin Spice Latte.

Leave a Reply

